top of page

Ashleigh's Book Suggestions - Elementary and Beyond

Updated: Apr 21, 2020


With being in self isolation, I thought I would share a few books that were important to me growing up. A lot of kiddos are at home now with parents, and if you're looking for some new reading options, check out what I've shared below:


Age Group: Elementary






The Wizard of Oz - L. Frank Baum


This was my very first chapter book when I was in grade 2 or 3. I remember falling in love with and read it several times in a row. I was so excited to be able to start reading 'big' books like my Mom.










Age Group: Middle School - Junior High




Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - J.K. Rowling


This might seem like an obvious one. I started reading these books when I was 11. I remember the feeling when Harry bought his first wand and started learning magic. It was one of the first long book series that I fell in love with. Our Harry Potter series sometimes had two bookmarks in it. I would read it when I was home, and my mom would read it when I wasn't around.











The Hobbit - J.R.R. Tolkien


This book is another favourite that I've read multiple times. I felt like this was written in a style similar to C.S. Lewis' Narnia series in that it was an easier read compared the Lord of the Rings or other writings by Tolkien. This makes sense as Lewis and Tolkien were friends and began writing fantasy fiction together and would help each other with their work.












The Story of King Arthur and his Knights - Howard Pyle


I will always be thankful that I read this book before reading Shakespeare. This book was a fairly easy read, however the dialogue is certainly written to be Old English.

This was a great way of exposing myself to Old English writing without it being too overwhelming.






Age Group: Junior High - beyond


Pride and Prejudice - Jane Austin


The moment I started reading this book, Elizabeth Bennet instantly became one of my all time female protagonists. This is another favourite I've read over and over again.

This book was first published in 1813, so it could be a little harder to read for some young readers. However I did feel that books from this time period did help expand my vocabulary. And Austin is amazing at creating a cast of characters all with unique personalities that keep the reader engaged.







The English Patient - Michael Ondaatje


You might have seen the movie. But if you haven't seen the movie I implore you to do so. Of course a film can only include so many details, but this book is so so so much more than what the movie shows.


I read this book for one of my English classes in university. I remember having my mind blown with Ondaatje's writing style. I cannot do justice to describing his work - so I would just read the freaking book haha


This book does include some mature subject matter, so this would definitely be for older students and parents.






What are your thoughts? Were there any books that stood out to you over the years?


I'd love to hear your feedback, if you'd like to hear more about what I'm reading, please let me know!


Chat soon,


Ashleigh xoxo

12 views0 comments
bottom of page